Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Supported by

[open] problem of the neverending loop

edited November 2014 in OpenSesame

hello :)
i have a repatative question, concerning how to end a cycle to be able to move onto an experimental loop after a practice run.
the experiment im presently trying to recreate is change blindness, where one is present with an image followed by a blank image and then the first image with a missing object in it.
the loop works fine; as in it repeats the images as desired,but the problem arises when i hit the space key (which has been identitifed as the key reponse) and the cycle refuses to stop.

i have checked older discussions and tried implementing their solutions, but they have failed to work for me.

anyone got any ideas?

warning: im new to open sesame and have never used python before this.

Comments

• edited 10:13AM

Hi,

Let's say that you have the following structure:

Here, the flicker_sequence presents one image, followed by a blank, followed by another image, followed by another blank. Each sketchpad is followed by keyboard_response that has a timeout of 500 ms. The result of this is that flicker_sequence presents images at a rate of 1 Hz.

Now let's say that in the flicker_sequence has the following run-if statements:

This means that once you press space, all subsequent items in the sequence will be skipped. So this allows you to stop flicker_sequence by pressing space.

Of course, you want to repeat flicker_sequence until the participant actually presses space. You can do this by setting the repeat value in flicker_loop really high. And to make sure that flicker_loop also stops when space is pressed, you can set its break-if statement (under 'Show advanced options') to [response] = space.

You see the logic here?