Welcome!

Sign in with your CogSci, Facebook, Google, or Twitter account.

Or register to create a new account.

We'll use your information only for signing in to this forum.

Supported by

[solved] Running latest source: no attribute 'Ui_MainWindow'

kirillkirill Posts: 10
edited January 2012 in OpenSesame

Hello,

I am trying to run the latest github snapshot from source under MacOSX 10.7 Lion & python 2.6 (macports).

Running with "python opensesame" gives the following error:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "opensesame", line 37, in
opensesame.resume_init()
File "/Users/kirill/OpenSesame/libqtopensesame/qtopensesame.py", line 121, in resume_init
self.ui = opensesame_ui.Ui_MainWindow()
AttributeError: 'module' object has no attribute 'Ui_MainWindow'

Any ideas?

Comments

  • kirillkirill Posts: 10
    edited 4:59AM

    0.23 and 0.24 as apps (releases) fail with a crash like this: http://pastebin.com/2JDDPL8D

  • sebastiaansebastiaan Posts: 2,737
    edited 4:59AM

    Hi Kirill,

    Thank you for your interest in OpenSesame! And your perseverance, I might add, because it clearly wasn't a flawless experience.

    Traceback (most recent call last): File "opensesame", line 37, in opensesame.resume_init() File "/Users/kirill/OpenSesame/libqtopensesame/qtopensesame.py", line 121, in resume_init self.ui = opensesame_ui.Ui_MainWindow() AttributeError: 'module' object has no attribute 'Ui_MainWindow'

    The *_ui.py files are auto-generated user interface files. The error sounds like there's something wrong with the file. If you view libqtopensesame/opensesame_ui.py in a text editor, does it look something like this? It should. One thing that comes to mind is that you may have accidentally executed compile_ui.sh, which generates the UI files, and that this went wrong (overwriting the old UI files). Could that be it?

    0.23 and 0.24 as apps (releases) fail with a crash like this: http://pastebin.com/2JDDPL8D

    The Mac OS packages are not compatible with all versions Mac OS (and apparently not with Lion then). We're aware of this, and working on it. Unfortunately, we have limited experience with Mac OS (not to mention limited resources!) so it's a slow process...

    Please let me know how it goes with the source.

    Kindest regards,
    Sebastiaan

    There's much bigger issues in the world, I know. But I first have to take care of the world I know.
    cogsci.nl/smathot

  • kirillkirill Posts: 10
    edited 4:59AM

    Hi Sebastian,

    Thanks for your reply, it has helped narrow it down.

    The libqtopensesame/opensesame_ui.py file is empty and as you have suggested, I have tried running the compile_ui.sh in an attempt to launch the program ;)

    I have checked-out the source again, this time with the following problem: The random-tip window appears, then the open experiment window; here, independently of weather an experiment is open, or the template is used, the main window fails to appear.

    --debug gives the following output: http://pastebin.com/CXz6DDqy (the last entries are marked as None, perhaps that's a hint to what is wrong?)

  • sebastiaansebastiaan Posts: 2,737
    edited 4:59AM

    Hi Kirill,

    Well, good, that's one step further then. As to why the main window doesn't appear, I'm quite baffled. The debug output is fine, the 'None' entries are normal. Do I understand correctly that the program doesn't terminate? I.e., that the prompt doesn't return, but the main window doesn't appear either?

    I have seen this behavior before on laptops where an external monitor is sometimes connected. What happens in that case is that the window appears on the 'invisible' desktop. Typically, you can retrieve the window by showing all running applications with a function like expose (on Mac OS). Could something like this be going on?

    Sebastiaan

    There's much bigger issues in the world, I know. But I first have to take care of the world I know.
    cogsci.nl/smathot

  • kirillkirill Posts: 10
    edited 4:59AM

    Yes, the python process keeps running and is not terminated.

    The expose all windows view does not show any related windows.

    Could you explore the difference in displaying/focusing the window between the first two windows and the main one?

    Kirill

  • sebastiaansebastiaan Posts: 2,737
    edited 4:59AM

    Hi Kirill,

    Yes, perhaps it's a window focus issue then, which only affects the Mac. I have made some changes to the start-up process, to speed it up, which I haven't had the chance to test on a Mac yet. Fortunately, my colleague is actually setting up a development environment today (hopefully), so I'll check it out when I have the chance and get back to you.

    Sebastiaan

    There's much bigger issues in the world, I know. But I first have to take care of the world I know.
    cogsci.nl/smathot

  • sebastiaansebastiaan Posts: 2,737
    edited 4:59AM

    Hi Kirill,

    I just committed two Mac OS patches to the master branch. The problem was due to a slight difference in how Windows, Linux, and Mac OS handle the showing of a window, but it should be fixed now. I also disabled the "Run in window" option, since this consistently crashes on Mac OS (won't fix that for this release, probably).

    Please let me know about any other problems that you encounter.

    Kindest regards,
    Sebastiaan

    There's much bigger issues in the world, I know. But I first have to take care of the world I know.
    cogsci.nl/smathot

  • sebastiaansebastiaan Posts: 2,737
    edited 4:59AM

    Fixed as of 0.25. Marking as solved.

    There's much bigger issues in the world, I know. But I first have to take care of the world I know.
    cogsci.nl/smathot

Sign In or Register to comment.