Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Supported by

What is the "duration" in the parallel port trigger?

edited March 2015 in OpenSesame

I am new to OpenSesame and I am not quite sure what exactly the "duration" field in the parallel port trigger plugin stands for. I read the following discussion (http://forum.cogsci.nl/index.php?p=/discussion/736/open-response-triggers-and-parallel_port_trigger-plugin/p1) and found it useful, but I am still a little unclear about what exactly am I saying when I specify the duration to "2 ms" for example. Does this mean that the trigger is sent for 2 ms after the event (say a word) is presented? Or does it does it mean that it is sent after two ms? If it is the former then how is it different from other software (like EPrime for example) that seems to send a trigger for one instance in time when the event is sent (I say "seems to" because I don't completely understand what EPrime is doing when it is sending a trigger either).

Thanks a lot!!
Grusha.

Comments

• edited March 2015

Hi Grusha,

A bit general information:

The triggers sent to EEG-Amplifiers/Software are transmitted via a parallel port cable.
    The parallel port cable has a lot of pins/wires in it but only some of them can be freely used (pins 2-9), therefore, we can have 255 different binary codes as triggers (trigger 0 is reserved for reset).
    Triggers are "sent" (created) by switching the power on or off on each pin (0V or 5V).

And now the answer to your question: