Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Supported by

[open] Pseudorandom order, items in sequence?

edited June 2015 in OpenSesame

So, I'm a complete newbie to experimental design. I was a philosopher by training that needed to start testing my ideas. I did the beginner's tutorial, and now I want to use OpenSesasme to implement a replication experiment.

The basic gist of the experiment is this.

I present a word on screen via sketchpad.

Next, I present an image on the screen via sketchpad in quadrant 2. This image stays put through the rest of the trial.

Next, I present an image on the screen via sketchpad bisecting the mid-line of the graph in quadrant 2 and 1. This image stays put through the rest of the trial.

Next, I present an image on the screen via sketchpad in quadrant I. This image stays put through the rest of the trial.

Then, the participant has a choice.

I simultaneously present in quadrant 3 and quadrant 4 two images. They need to select the image that corresponds to the series that they I just presented.

So, the logic of the design is:

If A, then necessarily B, and if B, then necessarily C, and if C, then either D and E or E and D.

Note the last consequence "either D and E or E and D" corresponds to the idea that either the target is on the left and the distractor is on the right, or vice versa.

The way that I currently have this experiment set up seems wrong.

I have the main experiment sequence, and nested right under that I have the instructions. Then, I have a single loop. Set inside that loop there is a sequence0. And then, I have 11 more sequences.

What I need to happen
The words presented pseudorandomly. I don't want the participant to see the same word twice.

The target and distractor to be randomly assigned to the left or right.

Is there any tutorial that would help me with this?