Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Supported by

EyeGaze contingencies

edited March 2021 in PyGaze

Hello, I am a masters student and I would like to create a gaze-contingent attention bias modification task using PyGaze and OpenSesame.

The display consists of two word stimuli (one correct and one incorrect) displayed in two rectangles.

I would like the rectangles’ outline to turn red when the participant looks at the incorrect word, and green when the participant looks at the correct word.

Also, I would like to play an ‘incorrect’ sound when the participant is not looking at any of the stimulus rectangles, and a ‘correct’ sound when the participant fixates on the correct word for a given amount of time. 

Trials should begin with a gaze-contingent fixation dot, where the participant has to fixate on the dot for a given amount of time before resuming the trial. The documentation shows how to create this fixation dot, but I do not know how to set this required fixation duration.

I am also wondering about how to set up the parameters for the drag and drop eyetracker functions.

As you probably guessed, I am an absolute beginner. I learned OpenSesame basics by watching the video tutorials on the OpenSesame website, but I could not find any eyetracking videos. The PyGaze documentation is helpful, but not nearly enough at my level…

Are there any online resources to learn how to use PyGaze and OpenSesame ‘from scratch’?

Comments

• Hi,

Are there any online resources to learn how to use PyGaze and OpenSesame ‘from scratch’?

Not that I am aware of. You can try to browse online repositories like OSF for projects that used pygaze with Opensesame

I am also wondering about how to set up the parameters for the drag and drop eyetracker functions.